2023 Japan Trip Prologue

8 December 2023

So as I've mentioned before, I'm going to japan soon! And I think that now is the time to really get into it more

I'm going to be going for 35 days and I'm traveling throughout the island. That said, I'm not going to reveal all too much where I'm going to be going specifically to keep it a surprise! But expect to see quite a lot of good food and good finds on this blog!

Of course with a huge trip comes preparing for the flight and things to do on my off time. Ironically something like that is almost as memorable as the trip itself and this trip I'm finally going to be putting one of the huge handhelds I have to the test. Not the switch but the steam deck! It's quite ironic imo that I bought the switch for on the go gaming and yet when I'm finally starting to go to large destinations again I've already gotten a successor of sorts for it but what are you going to do?

It's been a long while since I've used it so I'm going to need to update so much on it. Specifically I gotta update emudeck as well as add a ton more roms from my rom collection. Also install NFS Carbon: Battle Royale (Highly recommend that game btw! it's a modded version of need for speed Carbon and it's really fun), as well as my modded stardew valley from pc. Another game I gotta add is Genshin Impact. Yes, Genshin Impact... I've gone on record stating I hate gacha games (other than a select few. Sonic Runners will always be special of course) and that's still absolutely the case here too! But I love the story and characters of it so, I may as well install it since I'm an android main and we don't get controller support because apple decided to pay for it (or mihoyo decided against including it on android for some reason which is a horrible choice).

Another thing I have to do is set up my plex server with stuff I wanna watch. Lately my torrenting client broke on my server and it's starting to get super laggy because I was a huge Linux noob. Now I'm only a slightly less Linux noob, so I'm actually comfortable enough to install a cli distro and set up a docker stack with all tons of stuff so I can automate stuff. I also need to get far more storage but before that I'm gonna need a job. If you think you could help me with this feel free to contact me on Matrix: @mtbcooler:matrix.com

In any case, I can't wait to update ya'll on interesting things such as my first experiences with hostels, my finds (I really hope to get a jp copy of lego island, a cheap saturn and dreamcast and more), and so much more. Also I hope to actually battle within a beyblade tournament there so wish me luck.